Circle of Caring Award Dinner 2022

Home » Circle of Caring Award Dinner 2022

Inaugural Circle of Caring Award Dinner recognizing

Thank you to everybody who supported and attended the inaugural Circle of Caring Dinner on Wednesday, November 2. It was a spectacular evening recognizing the contributions that Tim Portolese and Dr. Bruce Newswanger have made not only to Center for Hospice Care, but to Elkhart and the surrounding communities as well.

Tim’s passionate support of CHC began in 2014 when he agreed to serve as the board of directors representative to what was to become Center for Hospice Care’s most successful comprehensive campaign to date, “Cornerstones for Living: The Crossroads Campaign.” In addition, Tim has also served on the boards of Child and Parent Services of Elkhart County (CAPS), Red Cross of Elkhart County, Heart City Health Center and Pet Refuge. He currently serves as the vice chair of the Humane Society of Elkhart County board.

As an emergency room physician, Bruce has been a strong advocate of CHC’s mission as well. Their philanthropic support – along with their Dachshund crew of Enzo, Fredo and Dominic – of the Elkhart County Humane Society is legendary. They were honored to win the Humane Society’s 2020 “Best of Show” award.

Tim and Bruce are avid travelers and enjoy the art and architecture of the many different cultures they have had the opportunity to visit. This is evidenced by their former residence, a 1938 home located on the St. Joseph River that they renovated into an impressive Tuscan Village.

Tim and Bruce are pillars in Elkhart and together have impacted the lives of thousands in the community. All funds raised by the 2022 Circle of Caring Award Dinner allow CHC to better deliver hospice and palliative care to patients living in Elkhart County.

Thank you to our generous Sponsors!

Dinner Legends
Dan and Suzanne George

Dinner Champions
Kim and Scott Welch

Dinner Presenters

Sarah and Wilbur Bontrager
The Community Foundation of Elkhart County
Gurley Leep Automotive Family
Karen and Kelly Rose
Rita and Dick Strefling
Sherry and Larry Swank

Reception Benefactors

Boling Vision Center
Elizabeth and Richard Bond
Jeannelle and Brian Brady
Amy and Joel Duthie
Abby and John Gilbert
INOVA Federal Credit Union
Insight Accounting Group
Legacy Wealth Management/Raymond James Financial
Kristin and Scott Mereness
Carmi and Chris Murphy
Meyers Family
Mary and Phil Newbold
Northwest Interiors
Stifel, Nicolaus & Company Inc.

Dinner Benefactors

1st Source Bank
Alick’s Home Medical
Century Foam
DJ Construction Co. Inc.
Bill Deputy Foundation
Elkhart General Hospital
Maura and Walter Halloran
Catherine and John Hiler
Kurt Janowsky and Jory Fitzgerald
Carol and Jim Loshbough
Mark M Murray
Radiology, Inc.
Stacey and Terry Rodino
Rollie Williams Paint Spot
Schneider Clinic, PC
Vonnie and Scott Trumble
University of Notre Dame
Welter Foundation
WNIT Public Television
Monica and Matt Zimmerman

Thank You to our Dinner Committee for all of your work to make this a successful event!

Honorary Dinner Chairs
Kim and Scott Welch

Dinner Chairs
Kurt Janowsky and Jory Fitzgerald

Dinner Committee

Nafe Alick
Elizabeth Borger
Megan Deputy Baughman
Jenny and Kreg Gruber
Catherine and John Hiler
Diane and Tim Krill
Carol McDowell Loshbough
Carmi and Chris Murphy
Christie and Carl Risk
Stacey and Terry Rodino
Amy and Amish Shah
Sherry and Larry Swank
Suzie and Troy Weirick

If you would still like to support the 2022 Circle of Caring Dinner, you can do so through the donation form below.

Dinner Champions
Kim and Scott Welch