Circle of Caring Award Dinner 2023

Home » Circle of Caring Award Dinner 2023

The second annual Circle of Caring Award Dinner was on Wednesday, November 1 at the Lerner in Elkhart. This year’s recipients were Rex Martin and Lori Harris.

Rex is Chairman of NIBCO INC. and represents the fourth generation of Martin family leadership. He joined the Company in 1975 and has served in a variety of leadership positions including President and Chief Executive Officer since 1992. He was elected Chairman of the Board in 1995. Martin is the Co-Founder and Chairman of The Rex & Alice A. Martin Foundation which specializes in donations to fund major projects for children in all of the NIBCO site locations.  Extending his service to the community, Rex has also served on many not-for-profit organizations and charities across the State of Indiana. as well as leading several capital campaigns. Rex currently serves on the Student Athletics Advisory Board for the University of Notre Dame.

Rex Martin has been honored many times for his leadership and philanthropy by such organizations as Culver Academies and Indiana University South Bend.  In 2004, he received the State of Indiana’s highest distinction, the designation as a Sagamore of the Wabash, in recognition of his distinguished service. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University in Bloomington and a master’s degree in management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Lori Harris is dedicated to improving the quality of living in the community through her unique fitness and wellness collective studio space, Lori Harris Fitness, as well as serving as President and CEO of the Elkhart AMP Group. Elkhart AMP’s mission is to raise funds and rally community support to build a state-of-the-art community amphitheater in downtown Elkhart. This project will create a lasting legacy of philanthropy that will bring joy, unity and artistic opportunities to Elkhart for generations to come.

Rex and Lori’s commitment to the community made them an exemplary choice to receive the second annual Circle of Caring Award!

Thank you to all of our sponsors! Your support allows us to keep our 43-year promise that no one who is eligible for and wants hospice care will ever be turned away, regardless of their ability to pay.

Dinner Legend

George Thomas

Dinner Champions

Welch Packaging Group

Dinner Presenters

Blue Island Investments, LLC

Drive and Shine

Elizabeth and Thomas Eisele

Faegre Drinker

Gurley Leep Automotive Family

Rita and Richard Strefling

Dinner Benefactors

Alick’s Home Medical

Bill Deputy Foundation

Community Foundation of Elkhart County

Elkhart AMP Group

Elkhart General Hospital


Carmi and Chris Murphy

Tim Portolese and Dr. Bruce Newswanger

Stacey and Terry Rodino

University of Notre Dame

Welter Foundation


WNIT Public Television

Reception Benefactors

DJ Construction


Ashley Martini and Bernie Haskins

Andy Murray

Stifle, Nicolaus & Company, Inc.

Dinner Committee

Elizabeth and Thomas Eisele


Committee Members

Britt Coyle and Dave Weaver

Cortney and Mike Greene

Jory Fitzgerald and Kurt Janowsky

Diane and Tim Krill

Alexis Martin-Klose and Shawn Klose

Ashley Martin and Bernie Haskins

Wendy and Pete McCown

Dana and Tom Pletcher

Tim Portolese and Bruce Newswanger

George Thomas